When the first meetinghouse was finished, the Pilgrims began building houses. Due to the time of year, they had to build as quickly and efficiently as possible. Using the meetinghouse as a guide, they laid out the plan for the “plantation.” There were nineteen families and a few single men. Each family was to build a house for itself on a pre-determined lot. The houses were built along the Town Brook from the meetinghouse easterly toward the water. The lots created one street, eventually named Leyden Street.
Pilgrim Hall Museum
Filled with information and artifacts, this museum is a must-see for anyone interested in studying the Pilgrim history. From William Brewster’s Chair to William Bradford’s Bible, the Museum puts one in close connection with the Pilgrims and their lifestyle.
As one of America’s oldest cemeteries, Burial Hill offers a unique perspective of the lives and deaths of the early settlers.
The sign at the entrance reads, “Here, Mayflower passengers are buried including Governor William Bradford and William & Mary Brewster.”
Burial Hill is also the location of the first fort/meeting house of the Pilgrims, built in 1621. It is interesting to realize that these great people of God walked, worshiped and died right here.